You are tethered!

Continued from my last post

As impressive as it is, yet there are many things about Apple’s iPhone strategy isn’t sexy as the iPhone. Either your are a user or a developer, you are tethered to play by Apple’s rules.

You are tethered

So Apple, If you hear me Steve, the way you throw iPhone at me. It’s truly impressive. It’s everything but yet nothing I wanted. There seems enough who are in the same boat. So will see how you gonna get around this.

You advertise iPhone a six month early, then you released it, US only, carrier exclusive. You thought it’d move fast, generate genuine sales. Instead I found it here in the gray market. So did the Chinese man. I could have afford one though, No I said! Expensive, locked, may be jailbroken, no 3G, no video camera, no third party apps. Not good.

Inferior than many cheaper rivals found here.

Then you cut the price. Your operator exclusive way wasn’t a success either in Europe, was it figure to reflect famous Apple that you sold 370,000 iPhones there? I guess brands next to Nokia even sell more in our small SL 20 million market. Not to mention India or China. So it isn’t going to work in Asia either, knowing that you presumably you didn’t release version one here.

So with the Gen One, you figured something wrong, nonetheless wowed us again and released iPhone 3G with AppStore. Ahem, I am doped by your all out marketing campaign, even third parties doing it all free for you. I haven’t seen any other product gets so much bang for the buck. Ok I am flattered, if that’s what you wanted.

But still it doesn’t make you right. It still doesn’t get a sale from me. You scatter your Apple Mac image I love. Now you sounds more like MS. Even worse. I needed it like yesterday but I am not gonna buy it anytime soon. Not officially, not from the black market. I see eBay sells it whopping 1300USD I piece. Wonder where those margins go. You could have afforded to offer unlocked iPhone 3G around 500USD in contrast to 199USD carrier subsidized one.

You tempt me, make everyone want one, and let the gray market flourish. Hence you abuse me, tease my conscience, miss-use my senses and looses my faith.

There are enough in the same boat. I second the following.

Free Software Foundation, outlines 5 real reasons why you should to avoid iPhone 3G:

  • iPhone completely blocks free software. Developers must pay a tax to Apple, who becomes the sole authority over what can and can’t be on everyone’s phones.
  • iPhone endorses and supports Digital Restrictions Management (DRM) technology.
  • iPhone exposes your whereabouts and provides ways for others to track you without your knowledge.
  • iPhone won’t play patent- and DRM-free formats like Ogg Vorbis and Theora.
  • iPhone is not the only option. There are better alternatives on the horizon that respect your freedom, don’t spy on you, play free media formats, and let you use free software.

So Apple, we will wait and see how you gonna get around this. Meanwhile I may upgrade my old Treo 650 to Treo 800w or something. You gonna miss a sale this time around too.

Cheers!

Leave a comment